top of page
  • Writer's pictureTan Sher Lynn

Dissertation Design





The Reality of Fiction and the Fiction of Reality (2020) Design and Photo by Tan Sher Lynn



 

Process:



Initial Sketch



First Draft



Lenticular Illusion Tests



I considered having lenticular illusions included to emphasize the concept of defamiliarization. The image will be seen differently when viewed from different perspective. I experimented with lenticular animation in Photoshop as well as pop-up versions in illustrator. Since I do not have any means of creating such finely cut bars for the animating card, I thought it might work on transparent paper. I also tried playing with lenticular pop-up after coming across interesting print projects that also works with the idea of perspective illusion.



Second Draft



Initially, I opted for either Case Binding or Soft Cover Binding with UV coating, clear coating over the title of the cover page. Also have two pages of the second draft (p 55-57) printed on translucent paper so that both images overlaps. After long consultations with print shops and contemplation, I had to put aside these ideas this time. Certain request I have made may be slightly complicated which requires more time than I can afford and the price range is way beyond my budget. In the end, I decided on the standard Saddle Stitch Binding, which means I have to compromise in the design little. Although a little disappointed, I hope the final version will still be able to well represent the research topic I have worked on over the semester.



Final Draft



34 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page