top of page
  • Writer's pictureTan Sher Lynn

Forgotten Images



After researching on films made of still images, I began collecting photos myself. I developed my disposable film camera with photos from throughout a year ( or more ), photos I have already forgotten about.


At the same time I am reading a fictional novel, Miss Peregrine Home for Peculiar Children series by Ransom Riggs. The author wrote the story based on old photos he found from antique stores and collected. While writing, he never stop collecting photos and ultimately, the photos and the story influenced each other. The whole world he created all began because he was curious about the story behind these old and anonymous photos. Without any way to find out, he decided to make them up.


Intrigued by this I went to antique shops to look for interesting old photos, despite not knowing what this will lead to.



Update:



Documenting stories.


Met a stranger on the tram who shared interesting stories of her life. I decided to record them, immediately went to an antique book store to look for photographs I thought could go with her stories. I later used a chosen image and match it to parts of what I remembered of the woman's narratives.


The monkey photo brought to mind Harlow's Monkey Experiment. I went on to search for a description of that experiment on the nature of love and affection. Added a photograph of a well to the collage to illustrate the phrase "well of despair" in that short passage.


Also tried pairing one of the photographs with a section from Hollow City, the second book of the Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children series but the result was less interesting as it is merely a illustration of the scene, and the "peculiar" photo looks like it could have been from the book itself.

11 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page